Where You Need an Adventure Pass: Forest Service Trailheads & Day-Use Sites

Adventure Pass site ยท 90 Concession fee โ€” pass acceptance varies ยท 17 Records conflict โ€” check first ยท 10 Other fee type ยท 4 Fee listed โ€” type not stated ยท 38 No fee listed ยท 99

The Forest Service lists 258 trailheads and day-use sites โ€” picnic areas, OHV staging areas, vista points and similar โ€” in the four Adventure Pass forests. Campgrounds, group sites and the Forest Service's target-range category aren't included; a few shooting areas filed as day-use areas, such as Munson Canyon, are. 90 are listed as standard amenity fee sites, where a $5 daily or $30 annual Adventure Pass or a valid America the Beautiful pass covers the fee. 99 list no fee.

The rest need a closer look: 17 are run by concessionaires that may sell their own parking pass, 10 have fee records that contradict each other, 4 list a different fee type such as a special recreation permit, and 38 list a fee without saying what kind. Signs posted at the site are what count. Where we have checked a site ourselves, our verified answer appears next to the agency listing.

Angeles National Forest (101 sites)

SiteForest Service fee listingOur verified guideLinks
6000' Trailhead
Trailhead ยท Restrooms: vault toilet(s)
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”
Aliso Springs
Picnic Site
No fee listed
Listed as closed by the Forest Service
โ€”
Arch Picnic Site
Picnic Site ยท Restrooms: vault toilet(s)
Concession fee โ€” pass acceptance varies
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”
Bear Divide Vista Picnic Area
Picnic Site ยท Restrooms: no restroom available
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”
Beartrap Picnic Site
Picnic Site ยท Restrooms: vault toilet(s)
Concession fee โ€” pass acceptance varies โ€”
Big Pines Visitor Center
Interpretive Site ยท Restrooms: restrooms available nearby
No fee listed
No fees are required for this site
โ€”
Big Tujunga Overlook
Observation Site
Records conflict โ€” check first
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”
Bouquet Crossing
OHV Staging Area
No fee listed โ€”
Buckhorn Day Use Area
Picnic Site ยท Restrooms: vault toilet(s)
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”
Burkhart Trailhead
Trailhead
Adventure Pass site โ€”
Cabin Flat
Trailhead
No fee listed โ€”
Cascade Picnic Site
Picnic Site
No fee listed
No fees are required for this site
Listed as closed by the Forest Service
โ€”
Chantry Flats Picnic Area
Picnic Site ยท Restrooms: flush toilet(s)
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
Chantry Flat (Big Santa Anita Canyon)
Adventure Pass $5/day or $30/year; Interagency passes accepted (verified September 30, 2026)
Charlton Flats Picnic Area
Picnic Site ยท Restrooms: vault toilet(s)
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”
Chilao Picnic Area
Picnic Site ยท Restrooms: vault toilet(s)
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”
Chilao Visitor Center Site
Interpretive Visitor Center (Minor) ยท Restrooms: flush toilet(s)
No fee listed
No fees are required for this site
โ€”
Clear Creek Information Station
Info Site/Fee Station ยท Restrooms: vault toilet(s)
Records conflict โ€” check first
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”
Colby Canyon Trailhead
Trailhead
No fee listed โ€”
Crystal Lake Information Station
Info Site/Fee Station
No fee listed โ€”
Crystal Lake Picnic Site
Picnic Site ยท Restrooms: vault toilet(s)
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”
Delta Flats Day Use Area
Day Use Area
No fee listed
Listed as closed by the Forest Service
โ€”
Devil's Canyon Trailhead
Trailhead ยท Restrooms: vault toilet(s)
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”
Devil's Canyon Vista
Observation Site
No fee listed โ€”
Drinkwater 4 X 4
OHV Staging Area
No fee listed โ€”
Eagle Roost Picnic Area
Picnic Site ยท Restrooms: vault toilet(s)
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”
East Fork Day Use Parking Trailhead
Trailhead ยท Restrooms: vault toilet(s)
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
East Fork Trailhead (Bridge to Nowhere)
$5/vehicle/day or $30/year Adventure Pass; Interagency passes accepted (verified July 20, 2026)
Echo Mountain Picnic Area
Picnic Site ยท Restrooms: no restroom available
No fee listed
No fees are required for this site
Closed: Inside Eaton Fire closure order 05-01-26-04, through December 31, 2027 as of our August 1, 2026 check. See our Echo Mountain guide.
โ€”
Emigrant Landing Picnic Site
Picnic Site ยท Restrooms: flush toilet(s)
Concession fee โ€” pass acceptance varies โ€”
Fawnskin
Picnic Site
Adventure Pass site โ€”
Fisherman's Point Fishing Site
Fishing Site ยท Restrooms: unknown toilet (1)
Fee listed โ€” type not stated
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per vehicle per year
Listed as closed by the Forest Service
โ€”
Georges Gap
Trailhead
Adventure Pass site โ€”
Grassy Hollow Picnic Area
Picnic Site ยท Restrooms: vault toilet(s)
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”
Grassy Hollow Visitor Center Site
Interpretive Site ยท Restrooms: no restroom available
No fee listed
No fees are required for this site
โ€”
Hidden Springs Picnic Area
Picnic Site ยท Restrooms: vault toilet(s)
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”
Icehouse Trailhead
Trailhead ยท Restrooms: vault toilet(s)
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
Icehouse Canyon Trailhead (Mt. Baldy)
$5/vehicle/day Adventure Pass ($30/year); Interagency passes accepted. Wilderness permit is free and separate (verified July 20, 2026)
Indian Canyon Trailhead
Trailhead ยท Restrooms: vault toilet(s)
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”
Inspiration Point Interpretive Site
Interpretive Site ยท Restrooms: no restroom available
No fee listed
No fees are required for this site
Closed: Inside Eaton Fire closure order 05-01-26-04 (Mount Lowe), through December 31, 2027 as of our August 1, 2026 check.
โ€”
Inspiration Point Trailhead
Trailhead ยท Restrooms: vault toilet(s)
Concession fee โ€” pass acceptance varies
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”
Islip Saddle Trailhead
Trailhead ยท Restrooms: vault toilet(s)
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”
Islip Wawona Trailhead
Trailhead ยท Restrooms: vault toilet(s)
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”
Jackson Lake Picnic Site
Picnic Site ยท Restrooms: vault toilet(s)
Concession fee โ€” pass acceptance varies
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”
Jarvi Memorial
Observation Site ยท Restrooms: vault toilet(s)
No fee listed
No fees are required for this site
โ€”
Juniper Picnic Site
Picnic Site ยท Restrooms: unknown toilet (1)
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per vehicle per year
Listed as closed by the Forest Service
โ€”
Lake Elizabeth Picnic Site
Picnic Site ยท Restrooms: vault toilet(s)
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”
Little Rock Dam
Interpretive Site
Fee listed โ€” type not stated
Listed as closed by the Forest Service
โ€”
Littlerock Entrance Station
Info Site/Fee Station
Fee listed โ€” type not stated
Listed as closed by the Forest Service
โ€”
Live Oak PG Picnic Area
Picnic Site
Records conflict โ€” check first
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
Listed as closed by the Forest Service
โ€”
Lowershake Trailhead
Trailhead
No fee listed
Listed as closed by the Forest Service
โ€”
Mescal Picnic Site
Picnic Site ยท Restrooms: vault toilet(s)
Concession fee โ€” pass acceptance varies
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”
Mill Creek Summit Picnic Area
Picnic Site ยท Restrooms: vault toilet(s)
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”
Mt. Baden Powell Via Vincent's Gap Trail
Trailhead ยท Restrooms: vault toilet(s)
Concession fee โ€” pass acceptance varies
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
Vincent Gap Trailhead (Mt. Baden-Powell)
$5/vehicle/day or $30/vehicle/year Big Pines Parking Pass (concession-run lot); Adventure Pass and America the Beautiful pass NOT accepted in the lot; free roadside parking on CA-2 (verified August 2, 2026)
Mt. Baldy Visitor Center
Interpretive Visitor Center (Minor) ยท Restrooms: flush toilet(s)
No fee listed
No fees are required for this site
โ€”
Mt. Baldy Wayside Picnic Site
Picnic Site ยท Restrooms: vault toilet(s)
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”
Mt. Wilson Rd/Eaton Saddle Trailhead
Trailhead ยท Restrooms: no
No fee listed โ€”
Mt. Wilson Skyline Park Picnic Site
Picnic Site ยท Restrooms: flush toilet(s)
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”
Nino Picnic Site
Picnic Site
No fee listed
No fees are required for this site
Listed as closed by the Forest Service
โ€”
North Fork Saddle Picnic Site
Picnic Site ยท Restrooms: vault toilet(s)
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”
Northshore Fishing Site
Fishing Site ยท Restrooms: vault toilet(s)
Concession fee โ€” pass acceptance varies
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”
Oak Springs Picnic Site
Picnic Site ยท Restrooms: vault toilet(s)
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”
Oaks Picnic Site
Picnic Site ยท Restrooms: vault toilet(s)
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”
Paul Little Picnic Site
Picnic Site ยท Restrooms: no restroom available
Records conflict โ€” check first
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”
Piru Ponds Day Use
Picnic Site
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual $5 per secondary annual
โ€”
Pony Park PCT Trailhead
Trailhead ยท Restrooms: no restroom available
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”
Red Box Picnic Site
Interpretive Site ยท Restrooms: vault toilet(s)
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”
Redbox
Picnic Site ยท Restrooms: vault toilet(s)
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual $5 per secondary annual
โ€”
Ridge Crest
Picnic Site
No fee listed
Listed as closed by the Forest Service
โ€”
Rosenita Saddle
Trailhead
No fee listed โ€”
Rowher Flats
OHV Staging Area ยท Restrooms: vault toilet(s)
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”
San Antonio Falls Trailhead
Trailhead ยท Restrooms: vault toilet(s)
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
Manker Flats / San Antonio Falls (Mt. Baldy)
Adventure Pass ($5/day, $30/yr) or Interagency pass โ€” display it; parts of the corridor are signed non-fee but enforcement is inconsistent, so don't risk it (verified August 1, 2026)
San Gabriel Canyon OHV Area
OHV Staging Area ยท Restrooms: vault toilet(s)
Other fee type
Special recreation permit
Day Use: $10 per Primary Vehicle (Any vehicle driven into the OHV area under its own power.) $7 per Secondary Vehicle ( A secondary vehicle is any vehicle trailered or hauled into the OHV area by a primary vehicle.)
โ€”
San Gabriel Environmental Ed Center
Interpretive Site ยท Restrooms: no restroom available
No fee listed
No fees are required for this site
โ€”
Santiago Staging Area
Picnic Site
No fee listed
Listed as closed by the Forest Service
โ€”
Serrano Picnic Site
Picnic Site ยท Restrooms: vault toilet(s)
Concession fee โ€” pass acceptance varies โ€”
Shoemaker Viewpoint
Day Use Area
Adventure Pass site Nearby, not this site: East Fork Trailhead (Bridge to Nowhere)
Shortcut
Day Use Area ยท Restrooms: no
No fee listed
Listed as closed by the Forest Service
โ€”
Shortcut Saddle Trailhead
Trailhead ยท Restrooms: no restroom available
No fee listed
No fees are required for this site
โ€”
Sierra Saddle
Picnic Site
No fee listed โ€”
Soledad
Picnic Site
No fee listed
Listed as closed by the Forest Service
โ€”
Spanish Point Picnic Site
Picnic Site ยท Restrooms: vault toilet(s)
Concession fee โ€” pass acceptance varies โ€”
Stonyvale Picnic Site
Picnic Site ยท Restrooms: vault toilet(s)
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”
Strawberry Colby Trailhead
Trailhead ยท Restrooms: vault toilet(s)
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”
Switzers Picnic Area
Picnic Site ยท Restrooms: vault toilet(s)
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
Switzer Picnic Area (Switzer Falls)
Adventure Pass $5/day or $30/year; Interagency passes accepted (verified July 20, 2026)
Table Mountain Picnic Site
Picnic Site ยท Restrooms: closed
Fee listed โ€” type not stated โ€”
Telephone Point Day Use Area
Day Use Area ยท Restrooms: vault toilet(s)
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”
The Cove
Fishing Site
Fee listed โ€” type not stated
Listed as closed by the Forest Service
โ€”
Three Points Trailhead
Trailhead ยท Restrooms: vault toilet(s)
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”
Tincup Picnic Site
Picnic Site ยท Restrooms: no restroom available
Concession fee โ€” pass acceptance varies โ€”
Trail Canyon Trailhead
Trailhead ยท Restrooms: no restroom available
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”
Upper Bear Creek Trailhead
Trailhead ยท Restrooms: no restroom available
Records conflict โ€” check first
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”
Vacquero Boating And Picnic Site
Picnic Site ยท Restrooms: vault toilet(s)
Concession fee โ€” pass acceptance varies โ€”
Vetter Mountain Lookout Interpretive Si
Interpretive Site ยท Restrooms: vault toilet(s)
No fee listed
No fees are required for this site
โ€”
Vista Del Lago Interpretive Site
Interpretive Site ยท Restrooms: no
No fee listed โ€”
Vista Picnic Area
Picnic Site ยท Restrooms: vault toilet(s)
Records conflict โ€” check first
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
Listed as closed by the Forest Service
โ€”
Vogel Flat
Picnic Site
Adventure Pass site โ€”
West Fork Fishing Access
Fishing Site ยท Restrooms: vault toilet(s)
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”
West Fork Picnic Site
Picnic Site ยท Restrooms: vault toilet(s)
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”
West Gate Rest Stop
Picnic Site ยท Restrooms: vault toilet(s)
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”
Wildwood Picnic Area
Picnic Site ยท Restrooms: vault toilet(s)
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”
Wilson Canyon Trailhead
Trailhead
No fee listed โ€”
Windy Gap Trailhead
Trailhead ยท Restrooms: no restroom available
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”
Yellowbar Picnic Site
Picnic Site ยท Restrooms: no
Concession fee โ€” pass acceptance varies โ€”

San Bernardino National Forest (53 sites)

SiteForest Service fee listingOur verified guideLinks
Alders
Day Use Area
No fee listed โ€”
Alpine Pedal Path Interpretive Site
Interpretive Site
Fee listed โ€” type not stated โ€”
Applewhite Picnic
Picnic Site ยท Restrooms: yes
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”
Aspen Glen Picnic
Picnic Site
Concession fee โ€” pass acceptance varies
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
Pine Knot Trailhead (Aspen Glen)
Adventure Pass ($5/day, $30/yr) or Interagency pass (verified July 18, 2026)
Baldy Mesa OHV Trailhead
OHV Staging Area ยท Restrooms: yes
Records conflict โ€” check first
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”
Barton Flats Vic
Interpretive Site
Fee listed โ€” type not stated โ€”
Baylis Park Picnic
Picnic Site
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”
Big Bear Lake Dam
Day Use Area
No fee listed โ€”
Big Falls Trailhead
Trailhead ยท Restrooms: yes
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
Nearby, not this site: Vivian Creek / Falls Picnic Area (Forest Falls)
Bonita Falls/Hidden Acres Main
Day Use Area
No fee listed โ€”
Cactus Flat OHV Trailhead
OHV Staging Area
Adventure Pass site โ€”
Cahuilla Tewanet Int
Interpretive Site
No fee listed โ€”
Chaparral Neighborhood Native Plant Gard
Interpretive Site ยท Restrooms: yes
No fee listed โ€”
Children's Forest Trailhead
Trailhead
Adventure Pass site โ€”
Cougar Crest Trailhead
Trailhead
Adventure Pass site Cougar Crest Trailhead (Big Bear)
Adventure Pass ($5/day, $30/yr) or Interagency pass โ€” or park free at the Discovery Center (verified July 18, 2026)
Crest Park Picnic
Picnic Site
Adventure Pass site โ€”
Deer Springs Trailhead
Trailhead
No fee listed โ€”
Devil's Hole Trailhead
Trailhead
No fee listed โ€”
Falls Picnic
Picnic Site ยท Restrooms: yes
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
Vivian Creek / Falls Picnic Area (Forest Falls)
Adventure Pass ($5/day, $30/yr) or Interagency pass โ€” not sold on site; SGWA wilderness permit free but required (verified July 18, 2026)
Fuller Mill Creek Picnic
Picnic Site
Adventure Pass site โ€”
Gold Fever Interpretive Site
Interpretive Site
Fee listed โ€” type not stated โ€”
Gray's Peak Trailhead
Trailhead
Concession fee โ€” pass acceptance varies โ€”
Greyback Amphitheater Int
Interpretive Site
Fee listed โ€” type not stated โ€”
Grout Bay Picnic
Picnic Site
Concession fee โ€” pass acceptance varies
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”
Heaps Peak Arboretum
Interpretive Visitor Center (Minor)
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
Heaps Peak Arboretum Lot
Adventure Pass ($5/day, $30/yr) or Interagency pass; trail itself free (verified July 18, 2026)
Horse Meadows Int
Day Use Area
No fee listed โ€”
Humber Park
Trailhead
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
Humber Park / Devil's Slide (Idyllwild)
Adventure Pass ($5/day, $30/yr) or Interagency pass to park; Devil's Slide wilderness permit is free but required (verified July 18, 2026)
Jenks Lake Picnic
Picnic Site
Fee listed โ€” type not stated
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”
Juniper Point Picnic Area
Picnic Site
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”
Lake Fulmor Picnic
Picnic Site
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”
Lake Hemet Picnic
Picnic Site
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”
Lodgepole Interpretive Site
Interpretive Site
No fee listed โ€”
Lost Lake Picnic Site
Picnic Site
Adventure Pass site โ€”
Meadows Edge Picnic
Picnic Site
Concession fee โ€” pass acceptance varies
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
Nearby, not this site: Big Bear Discovery Center Lot
Middlefork Day Use Area
Day Use Area
Fee listed โ€” type not stated โ€”
Middlefork Trailhead
Trailhead ยท Restrooms: yes, vault toilet
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”
Miller Canyon OHV Staging Area
OHV Staging Area
No fee listed โ€”
Momyer Trailhead
Trailhead ยท Restrooms: no
Adventure Pass site โ€”
National Children's Forest
Interpretive Site
Adventure Pass site Nearby, not this site: Exploration Trail (Keller Peak) Trailhead
Pct - Hwy 74 Trailhead
Trailhead
Fee listed โ€” type not stated โ€”
Pinnacles OHV Staging Area
OHV Staging Area
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
Arrowhead Pinnacles Parking
Adventure Pass for forest parking areas (verified July 18, 2026)
Rio Monte Vista
Day Use Area
Fee listed โ€” type not stated โ€”
Santa Ana River Interpretive Site
Interpretive Site
No fee listed โ€”
Sawmill Trailhead
Trailhead
No fee listed โ€”
South Fork Trailhead
Trailhead
Fee listed โ€” type not stated โ€”
South Fork/Hidden Acres
Day Use Area
No fee listed โ€”
Splinters Cabin Trailhead/Picnic Area
Trailhead
Adventure Pass site โ€”
Summit OHV Staging Area
OHV Staging Area ยท Restrooms: yes
Records conflict โ€” check first
Adventure Pass
โ€”
Switzer Park Picnic
Picnic Site
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”
T6 Interpretive Site
Day Use Area
Fee listed โ€” type not stated โ€”
Thurman Flats Picnic Area
Picnic Site ยท Restrooms: yes
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”
Vivian Trailhead
Trailhead ยท Restrooms: yes
Fee listed โ€” type not stated Vivian Creek / Falls Picnic Area (Forest Falls)
Adventure Pass ($5/day, $30/yr) or Interagency pass โ€” not sold on site; SGWA wilderness permit free but required (verified July 18, 2026)
Woodland Trailhead
Trailhead
Adventure Pass site โ€”

Cleveland National Forest (37 sites)

SiteForest Service fee listingOur verified guideLinks
Agua Dulce Trailhead
Trailhead
Adventure Pass site โ€”
Bear Valley Trailhead
Trailhead ยท Restrooms: no
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”
Blue Jay Trailhead
Trailhead ยท Restrooms: no
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day
Listed as closed by the Forest Service
โ€”
Boulder Oaks Trailhead
Trailhead ยท Restrooms: yes
No fee listed
Listed as closed by the Forest Service
โ€”
Buckman Springs Info Site
Info Site/Fee Station ยท Restrooms: no
No fee listed โ€”
Cal Wildland Firefighters Memorial
Picnic Site ยท Restrooms: vault toilet
Fee listed โ€” type not stated
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day
โ€”
Cha'Chaany Hamuk Trailhead
Trailhead
No fee listed Three Sisters Falls (Cha'chaany Hamuk Trailhead)
Free โ€” no fee, no permit, no Adventure Pass (verified August 1, 2026)
Desert View Picnic Site
Picnic Site ยท Restrooms: flush toilet
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”
Dripping Springs Trailhead
Trailhead ยท Restrooms: no
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”
El Cariso North Picnic Site
Picnic Site ยท Restrooms: vault toilet
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”
El Cariso South Picnic Site
Picnic Site ยท Restrooms: vault toilet
Other fee type
Expanded amenity fee
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”
Elcariso Info Site
Interpretive Visitor Center (Minor) ยท Restrooms: no
No fee listed โ€”
Four Corners Trailhead
Trailhead ยท Restrooms: vault toilet
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”
Garnet Information Site
Interpretive Site ยท Restrooms: no
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day
โ€”
Henshaw Scenic Vista Observation Site
Observation Site ยท Restrooms: no
No fee listed โ€”
Horsethief Trailhead
Trailhead ยท Restrooms: no
No fee listed
No fees are required for this site
โ€”
Hotsprings Trailhead
Trailhead ยท Restrooms: vault toilet
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”
Inaja Memorial Picnic Site
Picnic Site ยท Restrooms: vault toilet
No fee listed โ€”
Kica Mik Overlook
Observation Site ยท Restrooms: no
No fee listed โ€”
Laguna Mountain Visitor Info Center
Interpretive Visitor Center (Minor) ยท Restrooms: flush toilet
Adventure Pass site โ€”
Laguna Trail Head
Trailhead
Fee listed โ€” type not stated โ€”
Meadows Info & Sunset Trailhead
Trailhead ยท Restrooms: no
Adventure Pass site โ€”
Morgan Trailhead
Trailhead ยท Restrooms: no
Records conflict โ€” check first
No fees are required for this site
โ€”
Noble Canyon Trailhead
Trailhead ยท Restrooms: vault toilet
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”
Palomar Mtn Interpretive Station
Info Site/Fee Station ยท Restrooms: no
No fee listed โ€”
Penny Pines Interpretive Site Trailhead
Trailhead ยท Restrooms: no
Records conflict โ€” check first
No fees are required for this site
โ€”
Pine Creek Trailhead
Trailhead ยท Restrooms: vault toilet
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”
Pioneer Mail Picnic Site
Picnic Site ยท Restrooms: vault toilet
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”
Red Tailed Roost Trailhead
Trailhead
No fee listed โ€”
Saddleback Trailhead
Trailhead
Fee listed โ€” type not stated โ€”
San Diego River Gorge Trailhead
Trailhead
Fee listed โ€” type not stated Cedar Creek Falls Trailhead (San Diego River Gorge)
Parking: free. Entry permit: $6 per permit (holder + up to 4 others) via Recreation.gov โ€” required, not sold on site (verified August 1, 2026)
San Juan Loop Trailhead
Trailhead ยท Restrooms: vault toilet
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”
San Luis Rey Picnic
Picnic Site ยท Restrooms: vault toilet
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”
Storm Canyon Vista
Trailhead ยท Restrooms: no
Fee listed โ€” type not stated โ€”
Tenaja Trailhead
Trailhead ยท Restrooms: vault toilet
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”
Three Sisters
Trailhead
No fee listed Three Sisters Falls (Cha'chaany Hamuk Trailhead)
Free โ€” no fee, no permit, no Adventure Pass (verified August 1, 2026)
Wildomar Trailhead
Trailhead ยท Restrooms: vault toilet
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”

Los Padres National Forest (67 sites)

SiteForest Service fee listingOur verified guideLinks
Adobe Trailhead
Trailhead ยท Restrooms: no restroom available
No fee listed
No fees are required for this site
Listed as closed by the Forest Service
โ€”
Aliso Trailhead
Trailhead
Fee listed โ€” type not stated โ€”
Arroyo Seco DUA
Picnic Site
Fee listed โ€” type not stated โ€”
Arroyo Seco Trailhead
Trailhead
Fee listed โ€” type not stated โ€”
Big Caliente
Picnic Site
No fee listed โ€”
Big Falls Trailhead
Trailhead
No fee listed
No fees are required for this site
โ€”
Big Sur Trailhead
Trailhead
Fee listed โ€” type not stated โ€”
Brazil Ranch
Interpretive Site
No fee listed โ€”
Buck Creek Lower Trailhead
Trailhead ยท Restrooms: no restroom available
No fee listed โ€”
Buck Creek Upper Trailhead
Trailhead ยท Restrooms: no restroom available
No fee listed โ€”
Catway
Day Use Area ยท Restrooms: no restrooms available.
No fee listed
Listed as closed by the Forest Service
โ€”
Chorro Grande - Lower Trailhead
Trailhead ยท Restrooms: no restroom available
No fee listed โ€”
Chorro Grande - Upper Trailhead
Trailhead ยท Restrooms: no restroom available
No fee listed โ€”
Chula Vista Trailhead
Trailhead ยท Restrooms: contracted portable toilets at parking lot during winter months only for snowplay. vault toilets in adjacent chula vista campground.
Other fee type
Special recreation permit
Day Use: Winter Season $5 per vehicle per day $30 per annual
โ€”
Cone Peak
Trailhead
No fee listed โ€”
Cozy Dell Trailhead
Trailhead ยท Restrooms: no restroom available
No fee listed โ€”
Cruickshank
Trailhead
No fee listed โ€”
Cumbre
Picnic Site ยท Restrooms: vault toilet(s).
Adventure Pass site
Listed as closed by the Forest Service
โ€”
Divide Peak OHV Staging Area
OHV Staging Area
No fee listed โ€”
Dough Flat Trailhead
Trailhead ยท Restrooms: vault toilet
No fee listed โ€”
Falls Day Use Area
Picnic Site
Fee listed โ€” type not stated โ€”
Figueroa Lookout Day Use
Picnic Site ยท Restrooms: vault toilet(s)
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle or $30 per year
Listed as closed by the Forest Service
โ€”
First Crossing Day Use Area
Picnic Site
Fee listed โ€” type not stated โ€”
Fishbowls Trailhead
Trailhead ยท Restrooms: vault toilet
No fee listed
No fees are required for this site
โ€”
Frazier Mtn. Trailhead
Trailhead ยท Restrooms: vault toilet
No fee listed
No fees are required for this site
โ€”
Gifford Trailhead
Trailhead ยท Restrooms: no restroom available
No fee listed
No fees are required for this site
Listed as closed by the Forest Service
โ€”
Gridley Trailhead
Trailhead ยท Restrooms: no restroom available
No fee listed โ€”
Horn Canyon Trailhead
Trailhead ยท Restrooms: no restroom available
No fee listed โ€”
Howard Creek Trailhead
Trailhead ยท Restrooms: no restroom available
No fee listed โ€”
Johnston Ridge Trailhead
Trailhead ยท Restrooms: vault toilet
No fee listed
No fees are required for this site
โ€”
La Cumbre
Observation Site
No fee listed โ€”
Little Caliente
Picnic Site
No fee listed โ€”
Little Mutau Trailhead
Trailhead ยท Restrooms: vault toilet
No fee listed
No fees are required for this site
โ€”
Live Oak
Picnic Site
Fee listed โ€” type not stated โ€”
Lower Oso
Picnic Site
Fee listed โ€” type not stated โ€”
Lower Rose Valley Lake Day Use Area
Day Use Area ยท Restrooms: vault toilet(s)
No fee listed โ€”
Matilija / Murietta Trailhead
Trailhead ยท Restrooms: no restroom available
No fee listed โ€”
Middle Sespe Trailhead
Trailhead ยท Restrooms: no restroom available
No fee listed โ€”
Mill Creek
Picnic Site
Fee listed โ€” type not stated โ€”
Mt Pinos Condor Observation Site
Observation Site
No fee listed โ€”
Munson Canyon Target Area
Day Use Area ยท Restrooms: no restroom available
No fee listed โ€”
Ortega OHV Trailhead
Trailhead ยท Restrooms: no restroom available
No fee listed โ€”
Pfeiffer Beach
Interpretive Site
Fee listed โ€” type not stated โ€”
Piedra Blanca Trailhead
Trailhead ยท Restrooms: vault toilet(s)
Other fee type
Special recreation permit
$5.00 daily parking pass
โ€”
Pino Alto
Picnic Site ยท Restrooms: vault(s)
Adventure Pass site
Day Use: $5 per vehicle or $30 per year
Listed as closed by the Forest Service
โ€”
Pothole Trailhead
Trailhead ยท Restrooms: vault toilet(s)
No fee listed โ€”
Potrero John Trailhead
Trailhead ยท Restrooms: no restroom available
No fee listed โ€”
Pratt Trailhead
Trailhead ยท Restrooms: no restroom available
No fee listed โ€”
Red Rock DUA
Picnic Site
Fee listed โ€” type not stated
Listed as closed by the Forest Service
โ€”
Red Rock Trailhead
Trailhead
Fee listed โ€” type not stated โ€”
Reyes Creek Trailhead
Trailhead ยท Restrooms: vault toilet
No fee listed
No fees are required for this site
โ€”
Reyes Peak Trailhead
Trailhead ยท Restrooms: vault toilet
No fee listed โ€”
Rinconada Trailhead
Trailhead ยท Restrooms: no restroom available
No fee listed
No fees are required for this site
โ€”
Rockfront Staging Area
OHV Staging Area ยท Restrooms: no restrooms available.
No fee listed โ€”
Salmon Cr. Trailhead
Trailhead
No fee listed โ€”
Sand Dollar Beach
Picnic Site
Fee listed โ€” type not stated โ€”
Sandstone Day Use Area
Picnic Site
Fee listed โ€” type not stated โ€”
Santa Lucia Trailhead
Trailhead
No fee listed โ€”
Santa Paula Canyon Trailhead
Trailhead ยท Restrooms: no restroom available
No fee listed โ€”
Sisar Canyon Trailhead
Trailhead ยท Restrooms: no restroom available
No fee listed โ€”
Upper Oso Trailhead
Trailhead
Fee listed โ€” type not stated โ€”
Upper Rose Valley Lake Day Use Area
Day Use Area ยท Restrooms: vault toilet(s)
No fee listed โ€”
Vista Point Overlook
Observation Site
No fee listed โ€”
Wheeler Gorge Nature Trailhead
Trailhead ยท Restrooms: no restroom available
No fee listed โ€”
Wheeler Gorge Visitor Center
Interpretive Visitor Center (Minor) ยท Restrooms: flush toilet(s)
No fee listed โ€”
White Rock
Picnic Site
Fee listed โ€” type not stated โ€”
Willow Creek Beach
Day Use Area
Fee listed โ€” type not stated โ€”

How to read this list

Adventure Pass site means the Forest Service lists a standard amenity fee there. In these four forests that fee is covered by a $5 daily or $30 annual Adventure Pass or a valid America the Beautiful interagency pass, displayed as instructed.

Concession fee โ€” pass acceptance varies means a concessionaire runs the site. Concession lots can sell their own parking pass. At Vincent Gap, the agency listing says Adventure Passes are honored, but the Big Pines concession lot did not accept them when we checked. Check the posted signs or the operator before relying on any pass.

Records conflict โ€” check first means the Forest Service record contradicts itself: it says no fee is charged but lists a $5 daily or $30 annual fee, or the reverse. We don't pick a side.

Other fee type means the record names a fee that isn't the standard amenity fee, such as a special recreation permit or an expanded amenity fee. Don't assume an Adventure Pass covers it.

Fee listed โ€” type not stated means the record says a fee is charged without saying whether it is the Adventure Pass amenity fee, a permit (Cedar Creek Falls uses a Recreation.gov permit) or something else.

No fee listed means the agency record lists no fee. That does not cover wilderness permits, campground fees or a nearby lot run by someone else.

Open and closed status

A few sites carry a Forest Service "closed" flag, and we show it. We don't show "open", because these records can contradict a closure order. Echo Mountain Picnic Area and Inspiration Point on Mt. Lowe are listed as open, yet both are inside Angeles National Forest closure order 05-01-26-04 (Eaton Fire), which ran through December 31, 2027 when we checked on August 1, 2026. Those rows carry a warning. Each forest publishes its own closure orders, and roads can close separately, so check both before you drive.

Where we've checked a site ourselves

When one of our trailhead guides covers the same place as a listed site, it appears in the "Our verified guide" column with its own fee answer and verification date. When the two disagree, the guide reflects what we found on our last check, and the agency listing is shown so you can see the difference. A guide that is merely nearby is linked as "Nearby, not this site", without its fee answer, because a lot a few hundred meters away can have different rules.

Source

Site list, fee listings, operators and closed flags: USDA Forest Service, Recreation Sites (INFRA), EDW_RecInfraRecreationSites_02, retrieved 2026-10-09. This is the agency's data as published, not an on-site check by TrailheadParking.com. Duplicate records for the same place have been merged.